Classes in Python

Classes

I A Review of Classes

i. Class basics 1/11

class Car(object):
   pass

ii. Create an instance of a class 2/11

class Car(object):
  def __init__(self):
    pass
my_car = Car()

iii. Class member variables 3/11

class Car(object):
  condition = "new"
my_car = Car()

iv. Calling class member variables 4/11

class Car(object):
  condition = "new"
my_car = Car()
print my_car.condition

v. Initializing a class 5/11

class Car(object):
    condition = "new"
    def __init__(self, model, color, mpg):
        self.model = model
        self.color = color
        self.mpg = mpg        
my_car = Car("DeLorean","silver", 88)
print my_car.condition

vi. Referring to member variables 6/11

class Car(object):
    condition = "new"
    def __init__(self, model, color, mpg):
        self.model = model
        self.color = color
        self.mpg = mpg        
my_car = Car("DeLorean","silver", 88)
print my_car.condition
print my_car.model
print my_car.color
print my_car.mpg

II Using Classes

i. Creating class methods

class Car(object):
    condition = "new"
    def __init__(self, model, color, mpg):
        self.model = model
        self.color = color
        self.mpg   = mpg
    def display_car(self):
        return "This is a %s %s with %s MPG." % (self.color, self.model, str(self.mpg))
my_car = Car("DeLorean", "silver", 88)
print my_car.display_car()

ii. Modifying member variables

class Car(object):
    condition = "new"
    def __init__(self, model, color, mpg):
        self.model = model
        self.color = color
        self.mpg   = mpg
    def display_car(self):
        return "This is a %s %s with %s MPG." % (self.color, self.model, str(self.mpg))
    def drive_car(self):
        self.condition = "used"
my_car = Car("DeLorean", "silver", 88)
print my_car.condition
my_car.drive_car()
print my_car.condition

iii. Inheritance

class Car(object):
    condition = "new"
    def __init__(self, model, color, mpg):
        self.model = model
        self.color = color
        self.mpg   = mpg
    
    def display_car(self):
        return "This is a %s %s with %s MPG." % (self.color, self.model, str(self.mpg))
    
    def drive_car(self):
        self.condition = "used"
my_car = Car("DeLorean", "silver", 88)

print my_car.condition
my_car.drive_car()
print my_car.condition

class ElectricCar(Car):
    def __init__(self, model, color, mpg, battery_type):
        self.battery_type = battery_type
        return super(ElectricCar, self).__init__(model, color, mpg)
        
my_car = ElectricCar("Prada", "Blue", 90, "molten salt")

iv. Overriding methods

class Car(object):
    condition = "new"
    def __init__(self, model, color, mpg):
        self.model = model
        self.color = color
        self.mpg   = mpg
    
    def display_car(self):
        return "This is a %s %s with %s MPG." % (self.color, self.model, str(self.mpg))
    
    def drive_car(self):
        self.condition = "used"

my_car = Car("DeLorean", "silver", 88)

print my_car.condition
my_car.drive_car()
print my_car.condition

class ElectricCar(Car):
    def __init__(self, model, color, mpg, battery_type):
        self.battery_type = battery_type
        return super(ElectricCar, self).__init__(model, color, mpg)
    def drive_car(self):
        self.condition = "like new"
        
my_car = ElectricCar("Prada", "Blue", 90, "molten salt")
print my_car.condition
my_car.drive_car()

v. Building useful classes

lass Point3D(object):
    def __init__(self, x, y, z):
        self.x = x
        self.y = y
        self.z = z
    
    def __repr__(self):
        return "(%d, %d, %d)" % (self.x, self.y, self.z)
        
my_point = Point3D(1,2,3)
print my_point
Leave a Reply

